Netlify preview builds always asking for approval

We recently started using a fork of our repository and opening pull requests from it into the original repository. We noticed that in these pull requests from the fork, Netlify always makes us manually approve the preview deploys. Even after a contributor’s PR was approved in the past, their future PRs still need this manual approval.

Is there a way to whitelist github users or repo forks so that we don’t have to approve them for each PR?

The setting for this can be found on the page below (but you must replace <team slug here> with your actual team slug):

https://app.netlify.com/teams/<team slug here>/settings/access#auto-approve-deploys-from-non-team-members

I’ve seen that setting. that auto-approves any users who open a PR and bills us for them. this is an open source repo so that won’t work for us. is there no way to add specific users?

hey @artw7 thanks for following up!

Even after a contributor’s PR was approved in the past, their future PRs still need this manual approval.

Can you advise whether you’re referring to active or inactive Git contributors here? Even if you’ve got your Deploy Requests set to Require Approval, you shouldn’t need to approve subsequent deploys for the same active Git Contributor - please let us know if that is indeed not the case and we can continue digging on our end!