Clueless newbie question about how Netlify works

I am a totally clueless newbie who can write a bit of code, but I don’t have any training in contemporary web page management. In the past I have created static html web pages running on a now-obliterated Apache server. I am trying to create a similar educational website to be used by people who don’t even know what code is. I’ve look at various Netlify documents, which are way above my head because I don’t know the terminology and I don’t know about various tools (what they do, how to make them do things). My question is whether you can give me a really elementary hook into getting a page up and running, or can you at least tell me “No you can’t do that with Netlify / Netlify is not appropriate for this”?

The web page that I want to set up exists (will exist) as a directory on my computer (Windows); it uses subdirectories and index.html, and there might be 4 or 5 levels of subdirectories. All of the html is contained in each directory’s index.html file, and there will also be some number of mp3 files (this is an audio book of sorts), which are played by the html file (which presents original-language text, English translation, and a reading in the original language). There are maybe 200 files, and the total size of the webpage is about 2GB (the largest single file is probably under 10MB). Once it’s set up, users will navigate to the root directory, select a chapter then a subchapter, and play and read an individual text (this is a literacy project, with no tech support).