Help creating subdomain

Hi there,

I have a free account but I need some help setting up a subdomain. The problem is that I have pointed my Name Servers from Google Domains to Netlify where I have my main domain deployed.

I’m building another website on webflow and I want to create a subdomain. How to I point my A records for the subdomain to Webflow?

Best,
Rich

@Richard_Diviney If you have your Name Servers at Google pointed at Netlify, then you’re using Netlify DNS.

So you would manage your DNS records within Netlify.

The documentation for adding a new record is here:

Hey @nathanmartin, I appreciate that. Is there an “explain to me like I’m 5” explanation. I have tried following the subdomain settings on Webflow and Netlify but I’m getting a 404 on my web page here: https://dashboard.theattributes.com/

This is a screenshot of what I’ve configured on webflow’s end.

There might be, but not from me unfortunately, as I’m just a fellow developer and have to get back to my own work. I was just hoping I could get you out of your rut.

All I know is that Netlify won’t go out of their way to perform site specific configuration work for you, since their service is largely based on it being self managed.

Not having used Netlify’s DNS system myself I can’t even tell if that’s what you’ve provided a screenshot of.

1 Like

Hi @Richard_Diviney :wave:t6: ,

Welcome to the forums and thanks so much for reaching out. This is a good question and I think it might be easily explained with a tutorial. I found this helpful youtube video that shows how to create your domain in Netlify. Skip to the one minute mark and watch from there. This has that “explain like i’m 5” you were looking for.

I hope this helps? Please don’t hesitate to reach back out if you need more help. :blush:

Hey there!

No luck with this tutorial. I need help creating a subdomain but hosting it the subdomain on Webflow. Thanks for the suggestion though!

1 Like