Getting Started Feature Tour Fails

Hello
I’m brand new to netlify and static sites etc. To learn how to do anything with netlify, I wanted to go through the getting started demo site process before trying to do anything with a site I’ve created. I installed/signed up for everything in the list, and then hit the Deploy to Netlify button, it connects to github and starts the process, but then fails. Not a great start to seeing if Netlify is worth using… I tried deleting that site and using the deploy to netlify button on the features tour github repo, but got the same result. It creates a repo on my github, but there’s no files in it. Since I’m new and have never done any of this before I have no idea what could be happening or why or how to test it against a different repo since I can’t even get through the getting started demo :grimacing:. I’ve searched the forums, but came up with nothing. Here’s all the info I can think to include, let me know if there’s anything else I can include. Any help is appreciated.

Netlify site: repeated-failure.netlify.app/

Git version: 2.45.1.windows.1

— I’m not sure if it’s relevant, but wanted to mention since the error log mentions “master”, in the settings when I installed Git I set it to use “main” instead of master.

Node version: v20.12.2

Netlify-cli/17.23.8 win32-x64 node-v20.12.2

Github name: Graywaren

Repo link: https://github.com/Graywaren/netlify-feature-tour

Here’s the log for the initial try:

7:19:48 PM: build-image version: 3d3c7e8b4321e2c1a54a2c4584fb46ba742b1630 (focal)
7:19:48 PM: buildbot version: 588d3e99baf403f31620480ed78c765f2e21ff1d
7:19:48 PM: Building without cache
7:19:48 PM: Starting to prepare the repo for build
7:19:49 PM: Failed during stage 'preparing repo': git ref refs/heads/master does not exist
7:19:49 PM: git ref refs/heads/master does not exist or you do not have permission