External DNS for Custom Domain Configuration Questions

Hi everyone,

I was hoping someone could help this complete beginner figure this out.

I created a browser-based game and got it hosted onto Netlify, and Netlify gave me one of their autogenerated names. I also have a website (with Wix). It’s fourseaterescapes.com. I’ve embed the game into one of the pages: fourseaterescapes.com/feralcabin (this subpage is not live yet, but it does play smoothly when tested).

My concern is that I intend this to be a paid game, accessed only on my site by paid membership. I can code the game to “Domain Lock” it so that it only plays if it’s loaded in a website that I define. I don’t know how this works if the game is an embed game hosted via Netlify.

Do I domain lock it to my website or to "randomgame.netlify.app? Obviously, I don’t want people bypassing my website and going straight to randomgame.netlify.app and playing it for free. That’s how I ended up at “configuring an external DNS for a custom domain.”

Is that the correct way to tackle this?

Do I change randomname.netlify.app to fourseaterescapes.com/feralcabin?

If I point my subdomain to Netlify, can I do it for just one page of my website? Does the entire fourseaterescapes.com/feralcabin subpage load via Netlify, or can I still make it embed?

Also, I see in the Netlify documents guide some examples of subdomains being something like “blog.petsofnetlify.com” but never “petsofnetlify.com/blog” and not sure if that difference effects this process.

Ultimately, I just want to make sure the actual game URL is hidden or otherwise unplayable unless it’s within my website.

I know that was a bunch of questions, but this situation has got me stumped.

Thanks so much for your help!

Bill

Hi @castorncage

This is probably best achieved by having the game as part of your website, rather than a separate site.