Branch deploy is not working at all

Hi team,

So my problem is simply that Branch Deploy just doesn’t seem to work, like… at all :man_shrugging:

My production branch is deploying fine whenever I push to it which is awesome :+1:

My staging branch however, despite being selected in Settings | Branches | Branch Deploys, just never builds and I simply don’t know why. There’s no messaging or information that tells me why that I know of. And yes I’m new to Netlify.

I have scoured the support forum for Branch Deploy issues but they all seem to be around Subdomain, DNS, SSL, etc. issues and not that it simply isn’t working.

The one significant difference that I suspect may be the cause is my use of Azure DevOps for the repo. I have set up a Build Hook to get my Production branch to auto deploy and I’m wondering if my Staging branch won’t work because either Azure DevOps isn’t supported or my Staging branch simply needs it’s own build hook?

Actually my guess is I might need to create a separate staging site rather than using Branch Deploy but hey that’s why I’m asking here right :upside_down_face:

Any help is greatly appreciated.

https://gastro-public.netlify.app

Cheers,
Jeremy.

Hi, @JeremyW. The repo is private so I cannot see it. The error message in the build logs is this:

8:59:41 PM: Failed during stage 'Reading and parsing configuration files': 
When resolving config file /opt/build/repo/<redacted repo name>/netlify.toml:
Base directory does not exist: /opt/build/repo/staging

: exit status 1

To paraphrase that error it says you have made the base directory “staging” and that directory doesn’t exist in the base of the clone repo.