My form works but i cannot get the default success-page to show

Hello,
i cannot get a default success message to work. I have read the blogpost that usually gets shared for this kinda problem and several guides but still no luck. i was a little confused as to where to add the action=“thank-you”, or action=“/thank-you” still not sure which way is correct so i tried both ways with no luck. Have added it to my index.html and also to the react code. I don’t know what to try anymore and would be very greatful for some help.
The form works fine and i get emails with the content of messages.

My page is at https://adrian-loosli.netlify.app/
It’s a simple portfolio made with React.

The forms name is “contact”, in the code and also in the netlify dashboard.

I’m a beginner and i’m sure i made some mistakes and also used some code i barely understand :slight_smile:

There are some errors in the console relating to a manifest.json file i don’t understand when i refresh the page.

Thank you.

I think the issue is a little deeper here. Try refreshing the page when you are on /contactMe… see how it throws a 404? I think this is related to react + redirects.

Make sure you have this in the netlify.toml at the root of your site:

[[redirects]]
  from = "/*"
  to = "/index.html"
  status = 200
  force = false

Am I right in saying you are using create-react-app? If so, the way it works is by mocking pages not actually creating them. So if you go to the “page” /contactMe, it throws not found because that page doesn’t actually exist on the server

The config above tells the server to not actually change page when a link is clicked… this means react can mock a page inside the index.html

Hope this helps :slight_smile:

2 Likes

tbh Create-react-app is very outdated today… this issue being one of the reasons why it’s just not practical anymore. There are some really good beginner Next.js/Gatsby tutorials out there if you want to pursue react :netliheart:

2 Likes