How To Use Netlify Split Testing Based on a Condition?

Hello everyone, newbie here

I started using Netlify to host a static website and I really like the performance.

I’m not a techy guy, I was just using the manual deployment but I will see how to use the automatic deployment from GitHub. And maybe I will use Hugo as it seems a little bit easier for me.

What I need to try now is the split testing feature, I read that we can split the traffic randomly on multiple GitHub branches (I have never used GitHub :disappointed_relieved: ).

But what I need to do is instead of splitting the traffic randomly on different versions, I want to split the traffic based on conditions. for example, users coming from Facebook will see the site color in blue, users from Pinterest will see the site in red, and other users (who didn’t meet any condition) will see the default version (maybe based on document.referrer?).

Is this can be done with Netlify split testing? Or is there another way of doing this?

Thank you.

1 Like

Hi @Jawad,

Thanks for reaching out! Welcome to the Netlify Support Forums.

I found this article that may help with setting up Split Testing based on the users nf_ab.

Information about the nf_ab cookie can be found here in our docs:

We set a cookie called nf_ab to ensure that the same visitor always gets the same branch. By default, the value of the cookie is a random number between zero and one and is configured out of the box to ensure that your site visitors have a consistent experience. If you’d like your visitors to manually opt in to a split test, you can also use client-side JavaScript to manually set the value of the nf_ab cookie to a branch name, which Netlify’s CDN will read and serve accordingly.

Let us know if you have any questions.

1 Like

Hi @Melvin, thank you for your reply.

I read the article and what I understood is that the nf_ab cookie is used to serve the same branch that has been visited the first time by the users.