Connecting Netlify app to my Pair Networks domain name

Hi all –

My first post here, and in the spirit of asking a good question to get a good answer, including details of what I’ve tried and how it doesn’t meet my expectations, I seem to have written quite a long post. Thanks in advance for your patience.

I’ve been using R for 20+ years, I have a current need to develop a website, and the RStudio - Hugo - GitHub - Netlify toolchain is appealing to me.

I already own several domain names registered via Pair Domains and hosted by Pair Networks. I have no desire to transfer the domain to another host.

After some (other) trials & tribulations, I have successfully deployed my build to a Netlify app, magnificent-sable-0aad45.netlify.app Now I am at the final stage, connecting the Netlify app to my domain name.

In Netlify, I see that I need to go to Domain Settings for my app, and add my primary domain. I attempt to add “www.psychdevsolutions.com”. Netlify adds that subdomain as well as the primary domain “psychdevsolutions.com”. But on the bare domain, Netlify warns me to “Check DNS configuration”; the link from that warning message suggests I need to add DNS records to my domain at my domain host - they recommend ALIAS, ANAME, or CNAME records. My domain host offers CNAME records, so I try that.

At my domain host, domain management is done through a user interface. I have no access to a command line for domain management actions. I add a CNAME record which requires me to identify a subdomain - “www” will work. I point that subdomain to apex-loadbalancer.netlify.com … but Netlify is still not happy. So I call my domain host support, they talk me through adding an .htaccess file that should redirect any “psychdevsolutions.com” to “www.psychdevsolutions.com”.

Netlify still shows the “Check DNS configuration” warning. Okay, so there is a fallback position - pointing an “A” record to the IPv4 address of the main Netlify load balancer.