Bug report - identity-signup function runs but no longer updates app_metadata

I’ve been using Netlify Identity for several years now with no issues with the identity-signup function. Sometime in the past two days, I noticed that my identity-signup function is no longer updating the users app_metadata field.

The function executes without failing, but it does not update the users app_metadata.

This issue seems very similar to what @Shadowmap is experiencing here: Identity-signup seems to run successfully, but roles aren't set afterwards

Netlify Site Name: syncmyworkout

Hi, can you provide a reproduction of this issue in the form of your entire code.

I cut a bunch of logic out but this should still reproduce the issue.

exports.handler = async function (event, context) {
  const callbackHeaders = {
    "Access-Control-Allow-Origin": "*",
    "Access-Control-Allow-Headers": "Content-Type, Authorization",
  }

console.log(`New signup! ${event.body}`)
  const eventBody = JSON.parse(event.body)
  const email = eventBody.user.email
  const name = eventBody.user.user_metadata.full_name || ""

let callbackBody = JSON.stringify({
    app_metadata: {
      testMetadata: "testMetadata",
    },
  })

return {
    statusCode: 200,
    headers: callbackHeaders,
    body: callbackBody,
  }
}

@SamO this is a breaking bug for my site. I tried to force update the app_metadata within the identity-signup function (instead of relying on netlify to handle it based on the return body), but the function doesn’t have the needed context to update the user’s app_metadata.

If you have any workarounds you can think of please let me know!

this was a bit hacky, but as a workaround I now call a separate lambda function as soon as the user lands on the account settings page to update their app_metadata.

Hi @teakwood,

This has been escalated to the devs.

I seem to have the same issue. Between April 12th and April 20th this stopped working out of the blue.