Beginner pointers, customising templates

Hello.
I am fairly new to the Netlify CMS. I was wanting to start a WP. But after reading more about JAMstack and using Git and Netlify… I decided to try Netlify CMS instead.

Can anyone tell me how I should go about beginning to customise the look of the template sites. I setup the template and point my browser at it and see what appears to be an active blog, already filled with content.

I was expecting to see a contributor’s UI for creating posts and was hoping to find it easier to customise the look of the blog (really… more WP-like tbh was what I was expecting)… can anyone recommend the best templates for beginners wanting a simple blogging experience… many thanks.

I haven’t used Netlify CMS myself, but, from what I know and understood about your question, what you’re asking for is not possible.

I think you want to be able to customise the website using Netlify CMS just the way you can do it with Wordpress. Netlify CMS is just a headless CMS, that is, it can just provide content to your website and not control its look and feel. You would have to generate a template using any of the static site generators out there, connect it to your Netlify CMS and then you can use the CMS to generate posts (you’d have to write posts using Markdown in most cases).

So, customising website from within Netlify CMS, just like Wordpress does it, is not possible.

Thanks for the help… yes my thinking was getting somewhat muddied there… I’ll look into SSGs some now… do you have any recommendations for noobs?

Also, I’ll add that I was following a certain tutorial that used Gatsby… though I’m on windows 7 and was finding that I was getting problems with the outdated node and npm I have on my computer… updating node was the obvious solution though, windows 8 was required for the latest node… thanks again.