Redirects Help & 404 Error

Site: rajeevj.netlify.app

Hi,
I’m very new to all this!

I have lots of HTML files in my “pages” folder.
When I view a page, it appears at: rajeevj.netlify.app/pages/home.html
How do I make the URL appear as: rajeevj.netlify.app/home.html

The _redirects file currently has:
/pages/* /:splat

Which I hoped would change the URL to rajeevj.netlify.app/home.html but it doesn’t.

Also, I currently have a “404.html” file here.
For some reason, this page doesn’t appear when the error occurs:
https://rajeevj.netlify.app/abcde
The docs say this so it should work:

If you add a 404.html page to your site, it will be picked up and displayed automatically for any failed paths.

Any idea how to fix these 2 issues?

Thanks,
Rajeev :grin:

@yoyoman0909 Welcome to the Netlify community.

You must have figured this out because each of these works as expected for me.

Well, a question for you. If you need those files to appear in the way you mentioned, won’t it be easier to not save those files in the pages folder? It’s better than redirecting I would say. Is there any specific reason for this setup?

About the 404 page, it works only when the 404.html page is in the root of the website, that is, yourdomain.com/404.html. Since you have it in pages directory, it won’t work. You’d have to add another redirect rule for that and that returns us to my first point.

If you’re still interested to use redirects, the file should look something like:

/* /pages/:splat 200!. That’s my guess and I haven’t tested. However, with this setup, all your website’s files would have to be in the pages folder and that includes the CSS, JS and any other file.

1 Like

Thank you so much!
/* /pages/:splat 200! seemed to work. I had it the wrong way around.

I like to set up my website files like this where I have 4 folders in the root; pages, css, js & images.
I noticed when I placed my 404.html in the root, it worked as expected.