New to Netlify: Taking over from other vendor, how to get access to source code

For one of our clients, we are taking over on this site set up in prismic and hosted here. We have both logins. I need to do a simple CSS change to the site. Sorry I am new to the Netlify way.

In the control panel, the deploys are done via GitHub. The repo is owned by the vendor which I do not have access to. Is it possible to separate and download the source code to create a new repo that I own? Was looking at stopping Auto-Publishing. Need instructions for that.

Wanted to exhaust all options before going back to the former vendor for repo access.

site name is ‘shangrilahawaii’

• we need to know your netlify site name. Example: gifted-antelope-58b104.netlify.app
  • DNS issues? Tell us the custom domain, tell us the error message! We can’t help if we don’t know your domain.
  • Build problems? Link or paste the FULL build log & build settings screenshot

The better the post - the faster the answer.

hi there, do you have access to the netlify account for the site?

Yes, I have access to the netlify control panel for the site. Sorry for the delay… didn’t get the notification.

To make a change to the source code, you need to be granted access to the GitHub repository.

To stop auto publishing, you can click “Stop auto publishing” from the app Deploy section.

If I click stop auto publishing, can I download the source code, make a new repo and make updates? or am I completely cut off? Wasn’t sure what happens or how to take control.