New deploy overwrites previous ones

Hello Netlify Community,

I am new to Netlify and can’t seem to find any similar problems in the previous community posts.

I’m having an issue whereby whenever I deploy a new project to Netlify, it is overwriting the last one that I deployed. I have found that a solution is to run netlify unlink before every new netlify init I do but wondered if there’s a way I can get around having to do this, as I didn’t have to do this with my first couple of projects a few weeks ago.

I have tried running netlify unlink at various levels of my file structure to see if I had accidentally linked to netlify higher up in my files but that didn’t seem to be the case.

I have uninstalled and then reinstalled netlify-cli which hasn’t helped either.

An example is https://alexpeirson-portfolio.netlify.app/ which was originally a portfolio but got overwritten by a demo art site I tried to upload.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and apologies if I’ve missed out any required details.

:slight_smile:

Hey @AKP-13 :wave:t2:

Welcome to the Community!

It sounds like you may be using one large, single repository for your websites. Is that correct?

If so, you may want to read this guide and its associated links for mono-repo support!

Jon

Hi @jonsully,

Thanks very much for your reply :slight_smile:!

I’m not, no :confused: - I have different repos for the different websites.

Just tried seeing if I had a git repo in parent folders that could be somehow messing it up but didn’t seem to.

Thanks again for your response!
Alex.

Hi, @AKP-13. I’m showing that site isn’t being deployed with the CLI. All the deploys (there are only two) were builds at Netlify made by cloning the GitHub repo linked to the site.

These builds would be triggered by a git push and not the CLI tool.

I don’t show any other sites for this account.

It isn’t clear to me how you are using the Netlify CLI tool. Would you please explain your workflow with that tool?

Hi @luke.