HTML </head> seems to be stripped out during Netlify build

Hello,

I’m running into a strange issue where the HTML </head> tag is being removed when my site is built with Netlify. This is not happening when building locally w/ Jekyll - although I am new to Netlify, so it’s possible that I’m doing something wrong.

Here’s some details:

The website is deployed to Netlify at https://paulcalvano.netlify.app, and uses Jekyll as well as the Hydejack theme.

When I load the page, I see that the </head> tag is missing, and the <body> starts after the last script I’ve included. When run bundle exec jekyll serve locally, I can see that the </head> is there. While debugging this, I’ve tried adding an extra </head> tag immediately after my last script - but the Netlify build strips that out as well.

I’m not seeing any errors in the deploy log, or any indication of what is happening. I’m wondering if there is a discrepancy between the two environments that is causing this to happen - but I’m not really sure how to troubleshoot this further. Can someone point me in the right direction to figure this out?

Thanks!
Paul

Hey @paulcalvano and welcome :wave:

I just checked out your site and was able to find the <head></head> tags- maybe you’ve resolved this since writing in?

Hi @jen. Thanks for looking into this!

It looks like you are looking at the rendered HTML via the Inspector. The browser appears to be adding the </head> when it builds the DOM because it is able to detect the error and workaround it. I can see that happening in Chrome, Safari and Firefox.

However if you look at the raw HTML that is served, either in the Network tab of Firefox/Chrome/Safari or the Sources tab in Chrome/Safari - you’ll see that the HTML is being served to the browser w/o the </head>.

Hey @paulcalvano,