How to access a JSON from a lambda function while deployed

Hello, I have built a lamba function. It works locally. It has to import a json. When I deploy it with the same code to bitbucket, and build the site, when I call the function and go to the functions tab on netlify. it says file not found.

Error: ENOENT: no such file or directory, open ‘/var/task/lambda/connection.json’

I’m pretty positive the path is correct. How do I access a JSON from a lambda function? It doesn’t seem that the JSON actually gets included in the build and deploy, so it sits in bitbucket but never gets built. How do I include this? I dont need a database for something so simple right?

someone please help me, I’ve been stuck on this for days, almost a week. I just want to use a JSON in my lambda function. Do I need to now set up a data base and call that? Or can I just store it in a file next to my lambda function?

hmm, i am not a functions expert, but have you tried downloading your site to make sure what you think should be there is actually there?

i’ll ask our local functions pro to take a look at this when he can also.

you might additionally look here:

to see if there is an example of what you are trying to do!

Thanks! I downloaded the site, however, this is only the front-end. None of the lambda functions get downloaded. Do you know how I would do this? Im still stuck on this

Hi, @chrisleeharris. You are correct that the functions are not available in the deployment zip file.

It sounds like the require JSON file isn’t being bundled into the function archive so isn’t available post deployment.

Here is an example community topic where someone else is asking something similar:

One tool to prepare/bundle functions for deployment is the “zip-it-and-ship-it” tool:

Also, @marcus here at Netlify created the following repo as a demo of how this (bundling a JSON file to be read in by the function) can be done: