Custom language redirect logic

Hey guys,
Bit of a netlify-newbie here.

I have a gatsby app where I set up my pages to be example.com/hu/random-page, example.com/it/random-page etc. (the default english language remains example.com/random-page).

Here is the language picking logic I would like to achieve:

Until the users don’t touch the language selector on the website, they should have the page delivered in the language based on the accept-language header (through netlify redirect).

After they explicitly switch their language on the website, I would like to cache this choice and on the consequent visits I would like to deliver them the page in last picked language (through netlify redirect) - not relying anymore on the accept-language header.

Is this something that is possible or should I just rely on the accept-language header all the time? My thinking is that someone has it set up wrongly but doesn’t now how to fix it and just wants his site to automatically be in hungarian language - but according to the accept-language header he will always get the english one first and always has to switch it manually.

Hi @electronic33,

It’s possible to achieve this, however not advisable because of this:

With that being said, you can choose to use Country based redirects if you see fit or continue using Language based redirects depending on your use case.

I believe you’re not having issues with automatic redirects, are you? If it’s just the manual redirects that you need to take care of, you simply need to set a cookie with the name nf_lang and the language code and the user would automatically be redirected accordingly.

Hi @hrishikesh , thank you for the answer! :slight_smile:

Let me reflect to make sure I understand the situation: accept-language redirects are not working well with multiple language preferences, only with one.