Changing deploy preview build settings based on branches used in pull request

Hello - I am a novice developer using netlify for the past 6 months.

My site code is hosted on GitHub and I have 3 primary branches - dev, stage and master.

When I create a pull request netlify allows me to use the ‘deploy-preview’ context in netlify.toml to control the build settings. So far so good and all works just fine.

But what if I wish to have different build settings dependent on the source or destination of the pull?

For example if I pull from dev → stage I would have one build configuration, but another config if I pulled from stage → master.

It appears netlify uses the same deploy-preview context in both cases and I see no way to change this except to manually update the netlify.toml configuration in the branch being pulled.

Another way to describe my issue: I am using jekyll as the build tool with a separate config file for production (master), stage and dev builds, controlled by branch contexts in netlify.toml. I would also like to be able to specify which of these configs is used when a deploy-preview is triggered depending on the source and/or destination of the pull

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer

///Paul

hi there @Roa_Music,

i think what you are referring to us a build context:

that should, if i am understanding what you are asking correctly, allow you to create different sets of settings :slight_smile: depending on the context you are aiming for.

Yes - build contexts do what I want and I am successfully using those already exactly as documented in the link you provided. But not all contexts support the new preview capability released this week allowing reviewers to provide direct site feedback.

That new feature appears to only be available after a deploy-preview build and those in turn can only be controlled by a single build context called deploy-preview. (Unless I’ve missed something)