Build Command for React

Hi.
I’m new to React and Netlify,

In Create Site I’m no part 3. * Build options, and deploy!:

What’s the Build command and Publish directory for react?

Basic build settings

If you’re using a static site generator or build tool, we’ll need these settings to build your site. Learn more in the docs

Build command

Publish directory

hi @acrainier1,

are you 1. using a static site generator such as gatbsy, hugo, or similar to build your site? Or 2. do you just have a react-backed-app that you are creating “by hand”?

You only need a build command if you are using a tool to generate your pages that has to run before they can be viewed. Does that make sense?

Hi Perry. Thanks for the reply.

It’s a npx create-react-app (vs code). I get these messages:

7:20:47 PM: Build ready to start

7:20:54 PM: build-image version: 6b66e79d54a8f76b01392124644c3052ac0d32ef

7:20:54 PM: build-image tag: v3.3.6

7:20:54 PM: buildbot version: 2ba6f2db8150441c8469e6ae3ab3561a2c9d03fa

7:20:54 PM: Fetching cached dependencies

7:20:55 PM: Failed to fetch cache, continuing with build

7:20:55 PM: Starting to prepare the repo for build

7:20:55 PM: No cached dependencies found. Cloning fresh repo

7:20:55 PM: git clone https://github.com/acrainier1/jpnProject

7:21:01 PM: Preparing Git Reference refs/heads/master

7:21:03 PM: No build command found, continuing to publishing

7:21:03 PM: Starting to deploy site from ‘/’

7:21:05 PM: Failing build: Failed to deploy site

7:21:05 PM: failed during stage ‘deploying site’: Invalid filename ‘frontend_react_app/node_modules/es5-ext/string/#/repeat/is-implemented.js’. Deployed filenames cannot contain # or ? characters

7:21:05 PM: Finished processing build request in 10.751747372s

Hi, @acrainier1, would you please test adding your build command to the settings here?

If that doesn’t resolve the issue, please let us know.

Thanks Luke. So I was able to deploy but still no website.