Webhook, RawBody and Stripe

Hi,

I’m following the tutorial about Stripe and Netlify (Learn How to Accept Money on Jamstack Sites in 38 Minutes), all works very well but the last part about webhooks is not so clear. I have some trouble with ‘body’ and Stripe signature. Reading the docs I need to pass the ‘rawBody’ and not the ‘body’. Any ideas?

hey, @Lorenzo!

Thor and I ended up moving the webhooks setup to its own post, which you can read here: Automate Order Fulfillment w/ Stripe Webhooks & Netlify Functions

let me know if that clears up your questions. if not, I’m here to help!

2 Likes

[UPDATE]
Sorry Jason, I’m near to the solution, first of all I miss the step to insert the right Webhook secret key (the local one) in Netlify. I let you know… thanks

Hi Jason,

first of all thanks for all your videos on Gatsby and tutorial like the one I’m following.
I’m not a professional developer so I sure miss something.

I’ve implemented your webhook solution both on firebase functions and netlify with two different Stripe Webhooks (and of course two differente endpoint). With Firebase I can test everything without any errors. This is an extract of the functions, based on your code, deployed on firebase. Here, I can take the request and the rawBody:

export const handlePurchase = functions.https.onRequest( (req, res) => {
        const sig = req.headers["stripe-signature"] as string;
        let event;
        try {
            event = stripe.webhooks.constructEvent(req.rawBody, sig, endpointSecret);
            if (event.type === 'checkout.session.completed') {
                const eventObject = event.data.object;

with Netlify I’ve a problem both in local and in live version (I set all my keys in ENV and for local env I use stripe and netlify client for run both server and the webhook listener).

I can’t test the endpoint from Stripe, and in local I get this error, in “ntl dev terminal”:

Request from ::1: POST /.netlify/functions/handle-purchase