Trouble using Blobs and Identity in the same function

I’m pretty new to Netlify, so please forgive me if I’m missing something that should be obvious, but I’m having trouble both accessing Identity context and using Blobs from the same Function.

A couple of days ago I implemented a couple of functions to save a Blob and to get a Blob. Let’s take a simplified version of the get a blob function as an example:

import { getStore } from "@netlify/blobs"

export default async (req, context) => {
  const itemId = new URL(req.url).searchParams.get('id')

const items = getStore("items")
  const item = await items.get(itemId, { type: 'json' })
  if (!item) {
    return new Response('no item found with id', {
    })
  }

return new Response(JSON.stringify(item))
}

These two functions have been working just fine for me. But now I want to start to associate these blob items with an Identity user using their sub as a blob key.

I was unable to find a way to get Identity information from the function as written above. Despite me including the proper authorization header in my requests, the context variable never had any user information for me. Which makes sense because the Functions and Identity docs mention a clientContext property but the context object docs don’t mention it. However, the Lambda compatibility for Functions docs mention that the context will contain Identity information if it is passed.

So I implemented a new function using the Lambda-compatible format to fetch Identity information from the context.

const handler = async function (req, ctx) {
  const user = 
    (!('clientContext' in ctx) || !('user' in ctx.clientContext))
    ? null : ctx.clientContext.user

if (user === null) {
    return {
      statusCode: 200,
      body: JSON.stringify({message: 'hello anonymous'})
    }
  } else {
    return {
      statusCode: 200,
      body: JSON.stringify({message: `hello, ${user.email}`})
    }
  }
}

export { handler }

And that works just fine.