[Support Guide] Ensure your Netlify Create projects are deployed and connected to Netlify Core

As of June 2024, Netlify Create projects have officially been integrated into Netlify Core. This integration will unlock a host of new functionalities, empowering you to effortlessly build and deploy your websites and enhance visual editing capabilities. You can read more about this integration here: Announcing streamlined Visual editor setup in Netlify

If you have Create enabled on a Netlify site but are unable to navigate to the visual editor from app.netlify.com or if you can view your site(s) on create.netlify.com but not on app.netlify.com, follow this guide for steps on how to successfully connect the two.

As a first step, you’ll want to ensure you own the code repository. If the code repository is not currently in your control, you can refer to this guide for steps on how to transfer ownership of the code to your GitHub account.

Once you’ve successfully claimed the repository, there are a couple of options to move forward.

Your site(s) are successfully deployed on Netlify

Follow the steps below if you have already deployed this site on Netlify but you can’t see the “Open visual editor” link on the site overview page:

This means the Create site has not been properly linked. To enable visual editing, select the Enable visual editor option from the site overview page.

Follow the prompts to configure the project. Once you complete those steps, navigate back to the site overview page and confirm you can open the site in the visual editor by clicking “Open visual editor.”

Once confirmed, you can delete the old Create project at create.netlify.com (note that if left alone, it will be automatically deleted in one month).

Your site(s) are not deployed on Netlify

If the Create site(s) are not deployed on Netlify, you’ll need to deploy them now. To deploy the site, navigate to Sites > Add a new site and select one of the three deployment options. You can also reference our documentation on creating deploys.

You’ll need to ensure the stackbit.config.js file is present. During the deployment process, you’ll be prompted to enable visual editing.

(Note, if there is no stackbit.config.js present upon deploy, you can still enable visual editing in the future by following the workflow listed above.)

Once the site is deployed, confirm visual editing is enabled by clicking “Open visual editor” on the site overview page:

Once confirmed, you can delete the old Create project at create.netlify.com (note that if left alone, it will be automatically deleted in one month).