Netlify identity and go functions

netlify site name: nervous-lewin-928377

This is my first time using Netlify Identity, so wanted to double check a few things. Been using the docs here as a reference Build functions | Netlify Docs. The docs made it look like you only need to check for a valid lambda context to auth the route, but I saw a valid context regardless whether or not a valid token was submitted by the front end. So wanted to double check my approach.

When I log the request context I can see some information attached by netlify in the Custom field (abbreviated token below). It looks something like Custom:map[netlify:eyJpZGVudGl0eSI6....=]

{"file":"handlers.go:38","func":"ServeHTTP","level":"info","msg":"cc: {Client:{InstallationID: AppTitle: AppVersionCode: AppPackageName:} Env:map[] Custom:map[netlify:eyJpZGVudGl0eSI6....=]}","time":"2020-06-27T07:27:32Z"}

I’m able to parse this Custom field and then check for the presence of a user. Attaching full middleware below.

Everything seems to be working. Users with valid tokens are allowed to make requests and those with no token or an invalid token are not. But, just wanted to check if this all looks as expected as I was having trouble finding a complete example of auth for a netlify function on the go side.

Hi @okeydoke,

We won’t authenticate functions automatically. You can use the context to validate and then perform what you need to do in your function. Or if the token fails to validate, you can return a status code for 401, etc. Hope that makes sense.

1 Like

Thanks @Dennis. Is the Bearer token the frontend provides just forwarded along to the backend via the context (with no intermediate steps)? I had read the docs / a few blog posts and was a little confused about what I needed to verify in the lambda in order to ensure that a logged in user was making the request. For example, from the blog post below: