Netlify doesn't use environment variables

Hey guys!

I have a lot of experience working with JAMStack on Netlify as we use Gatsby in my company, so in general, I know the basic setup.

Unfortunately, I have a problem with my side project created with Next.js and to be exact - with environmental variables.

I have both types of envs: secrets and those exposed to the client (with NEXT_PUBLIC_* prefix).

Everything works perfectly well in the local environment: next dev, next build, netlify dev and netlify build commands return the working website with correct data.

Problems start when I publish the website on Netlify, even though I added all envs to Build & Deploy → Environment → Environment variables UI.

It seems like it doesn’t see/use these envs and the website doesn’t have any data and does not use any feature flag (which is a simple boolean with conditional rendering).

P.S. The command netlify env:list returns correct values.

Hey @Graffiss

Just deployed a boilerplate Next.js project to test this, replacing the default footer with an environment variable. Strange thing is the text in the variable is written out and visible but only for about a second (I took a screen recording to check.)

I’m (kinda) glad that the issue is replicable :neutral_face:

I would like to confirm that everything works fine on Vercel, but I would rather stick with Netlify.

Any ideas? @perry ?

Let’s pick this apart a bit and get you some next steps so we can help you get it solved!