How to access environment variables?

Hi I’m reasonably new to netlify and have never used the environment variables before but I’m having a tough time getting my head around how to use them.
I have a gatsby site I’m working on and have set up a environment variable in the UI but I’m unsure how I access it? I have tried just console.log(process.env) to see what comes back but it’s an empty object. I know I’m missing something which may be obvious but I’m just a hobby developer so not sure.
Additionally how do I access environment variables in netlify dev?
Thanks in advance

Will

@bushblade I will start with the Gatsby issue for client side environment variables.

Gatsby has a requirement to start your environment variables with GATSBY_ for them to be used in your client javascript. (exception NODE_ENV). This follows the same pattern as a create-react-app.

See: Environment Variables | Gatsby

Once you set them up correctly, they should also show up using netlify dev

Thanks for the reply, I’ll have a read of that. What about server side variables though? Like for api keys and such, how do you use them?

I’m trying to use the netlify.toml to set environment variables, can that not be done with a gatsby site and needs to be as per the gatsby documentation rather than netlify dev?

You won’t be able to access environment variables for the client unless you have built them into your scripts during a build. That is why you should not store secret keys in the builds of your client scripts.

There is no server side on Netlify, except when using functions. If you are using Netlify functions (lambda-functions) then there is not an issue accessing environment variables setup through the admin UI.

There is no difference between the netlify.toml env vars and the ones you setup through the admin ui at app.netlify.com when accessed by the build bots on Netlify. They get loaded at the time of the build together.