Deployment strategy

Hi,

I am pretty new to Netlify. I have a project connected to a git repo where I have both my Strapi backend and my gatsby frontend.

I would like to try out netylify-cli. In the root of my project I have the folders backend and frontend. In the frontend I have a gatsby project. To use netlify-cli, and use GIT as my CI, I cd into my frontend folder and try:

• netlify login
  • netlify init

When prompted I set a site name, and then I am prompted for a build command, so I run the:
gatsby build command
And when prompted Directory to deploy, I supply
public/

But the build fails as it complains on my gatsby build and I get the following error:

1:01:42 AM: ┌───────────────────────────────────┐
1:01:42 AM: │ 1. Build command from Netlify app │
1:01:42 AM: └───────────────────────────────────┘
1:01:42 AM: ​
1:01:42 AM: $ gatsby build
1:01:42 AM: bash: gatsby: command not found
1:01:42 AM: ┌─────────────────────────────┐
1:01:42 AM: │ “build.command” failed │
1:01:42 AM: └─────────────────────────────┘
1:01:42 AM: Error message
1:01:42 AM: Command failed with exit code 127: gatsby build
1:01:42 AM: Error location
1:01:42 AM: In Build command from Netlify app:
1:01:42 AM: gatsby build
1:01:42 AM: Resolved config
1:01:42 AM: build:
1:01:42 AM: command: gatsby build
1:01:42 AM: commandOrigin: ui
1:01:42 AM: publish: /opt/build/repo/public

I tried to follow the instructions on the gatsby docs
I tried also the instructions on this netlify docs page to do it via the netlify gui, but getting the same error for the gatsby build command failing.

What am I missing or done incorrectly?

Hiya @lupis and welcome to our community! Few questions that I think will help you get things sorted:

1. do you need to build from WITHIN your frontend directory? If so, and if no files are needed from outside id, you could set a base of that frontend folder to start the build there, and look for config files such as yarn.lock there.