Cannot find dependency in lambda (module 'node-fetch')

Hi, I read in the docs that if I have a node.js function ‘npm install’ will be run if there is no yarn.lock file in my directory. I’m a newbie at npm and Netlify.

I know I can’t be the first to encounter this, but I found this link which is 1) unclear and 2) conflicts with the docs that say that npm install will be run when building my project. However, it chokes on

const fetch = require('node-fetch');

My lambda function URL: https://vigilant-euler-d561b4.netlify.com/.netlify/functions/starwars

{
"errorMessage":"Cannot find module 'node-fetch'",
"errorType":"Error",
"stackTrace":["Function.Module._load (module.js:474:25)",
"Module.require (module.js:596:17)",
"require (internal/module.js:11:18)",
"Object.<anonymous> (/var/task/starwars.js:3:15)",
"Module._compile (module.js:652:30)",
"Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:663:10)",
"Module.load (module.js:565:32)",
"tryModuleLoad (module.js:505:12)",
"Function.Module._load (module.js:497:3)"]
}

Hello @dmorsebu, the docs you linked to as specifically for site building. Dependencies for lambda functions are handled different. If your function has its own package.json, then our buildbot won’t automatically install those dependencies. That said, can you tell me what you found was unclear in the community post that you share?

The sentence “Bring the node_modules dependencies with you from the function directory” is unclear. What does “bring” mean in a programming/Netlify sense? I’ve never heard “bring” used in a coding context. It would be more helpful to give an example of a lambda function directory structure with the ‘node-fetch’ folder location and contents so I can make sure mine matches.