Access filesystem inside a plugin

Hello!

I am building a netlify plugin that needs to rewrite some generated html files post-build (but pre-deploy). Is this type of use case supported? if so, can you share how it can be done? Alternatively, it would also work if there’s a way to add widgets/some kind of UI element from a plugin.

Another related question - build event documentation says that onSuccess and onEnd are triggered after deployment. However, when i was experimenting locally, they’re triggered as soon as the integration is built, not when the site is deployed. Is there something i’m missing?

Sorry for the newbie questions, I’m new to netlify and have zero experience with js/ts :). Thanks in advance!

Yes.

There’s no code handy, but it’s no different from using node:fs to read/write files.

Not sure what you mean. Plugins don’t have any UI, so what UI element are you proposing to add?

Those events are more useful when deploying using git than CLI.

thanks for the quick response @hrishikesh!

Not sure what you mean. Plugins don’t have any UI, so what UI element are you proposing to add?

For example, adding a floating chat bubble on exiting pages. We can rewrite the generated html, but that seems abit too hacky IMO.

How are you building the website? It should be easier to embed the widget in your build process than write a build plugin to go that thing.

i’m actually developing this plugin to be a generic one that any website can use :slight_smile: It would be easier to ask website owners to embed this widget themselves, but IMO UX is better if it can be done automatically via a plugin

Sure if you’re keen on going down that path, you can add the widget on every HTML file found in the site’s publish directory.

thanks! And re filesys access - i tried a few different ways to import fs module, but none worked.

Static import import * as fs from 'node:fs'; or import * as fs from 'fs'; followed by fs.readFile() got this error