Serverless Function Returning 404 Error

Hey everyone. I am new to Netlify (and web development) and require help with use of Netlify functions along with environmental variables. I am writing this after checking out a lot of YouTube tutorials, Netlify documentation/support guides (e.g. this and this and other documentation along with posting on Stack Overflow here, and I am asking for support here in the hope of getting it to work.

My relevant URL is Netlify Environment Variables Test. It is designed just to test out use of environmental variables and serverless functions on Netlify. I am not making use of any Netlify CLI or NPM at my local machine, and am relying on a flag in my code to deploy and test directly on production. I’m doing it way because (a) I don’t know how to use NPM (b) It is a simple test (c) It will help me learn something about how Netlify functions work.

So, I am trying to set up a simple serverless function on Netlify just to test out usage of environment variables. I have defined the following two environment variables in Netlify for my site:

Variable Name Value
ALPHABET_SEPARATION 2
CHARS_BETWEEN 3

I have also updated my functions directory as follows:

Functions directory:           myfunctions

I am using continuous deployment from github. As I do not know the use of npm at present and finding it convenient to directly test the production deploy, I have defined a subdirectory called myfunctions inside my root directory and have placed my javascript file containing the “serverless” function inside it on my local machine. I have built in logic so that the “serverless” function gets called only when a “netlify” flag is set, otherwise, an alternate function gets executed client-side. Basically it works as follows:

const deploy = "netlify"  //Possible valid values are "local" and "netlify"

async function postRandomString() {
    const stringToUpdate = "THISISATESTSTRING"
    var stringToPost = "DUMMYINITIALVALUE";