Seeking Assistance: Integrating Netlify CMS into Existing Site

Hi Netlify Community,

I’m relatively new to static site generators, and I recently discovered the benefits of Netlify CMS. I initially created a static HTML site where I manually managed posts in HTML format. I tried it and Netlify created a new repo and a new URL for the CMS. But my interest is to integrate the CMS in my existing site. After learning about Netlify CMS, I decided to integrate it into my existing project to streamline content management.

Here are the steps I followed:

1. Installed a new Hugo site with the command: hugo new site cms-ml. This created a new folder called “cms-ml” within my existing HTML project.

2. Added a new theme with: hugo new theme cms-malayalam.

3. Seeking guidance from the ChatGPT, I was advised to create a folder named “admin” within the “static” directory and place a “config.yml” file inside it.

4. I built the site using the hugo command.

5. Pushed the changes to my Git repository.

6. Checked the deploy status on Netlify, and the site was successfully published.

7. Enabled Netlify Identity for authentication.

8. Despite trying different URLs suggested by the ChatGPT, I encountered issues accessing Netlify CMS on the deployed site. ( https://global-commons.netlify.app/cms-ml/admin, https://global-commons.netlify.app/admin, https://global-commons.netlify.app/admin/cms-ml )

I would greatly appreciate any guidance or insights from the community on how to successfully integrate Netlify CMS into my existing Hugo project. If there are specific logs or details needed, please let me know.

Thank you for your assistance!

Best regards,
Michael

Netlify CMS no longer exists. It is now Decap CMS @MichaelGC

See here

I read about it, but somehow, I only tried and tested the standalone CMS from the Netlify CMS site from here:

https://v1.netlifycms.org/docs/start-with-a-template/