Home
Support Forums

Regarding Drag And Drop Sites

I was hosting my site on shared hosting ( wordpress) but have now moved to netlify.
Currently, I have local installation of my site, and I am using a static file generator plugin.
The plugin gives me a zip folder as an output.
I drag and drop this folder on netlify, and site is deployed.
It works, and I am also able to add custom domain.

However, I am not able to update this site.
For updating the site, I have to drag and drop new zip , and delete old site.
Then I have to again add custom domain.

Is there a way to make this process a better.

I tried git respository linking, but I am not able to figure out what to do.
I dumped zip folder in the respository but site didn’t deployed.
I also tried the unzip folder but even that was a failure.

I am not a developer. Is there an easy tutorial or something that I can follow.

Please help.

Regards,
Bharat

P.S.- This is the first time I am posting on a forum, and I don’t know the unwritten rules of the community.
If this is not the right category for this question, please move it to appropriate section.

@Bharat Welcome to the Netlify community.

I do this several times each day and it works every time. What happens when you drag ‘n’ drop your site folder and not a ZIP file?

Hi @gregraven

I didn’t tried drag and drop on netlify dashboard ( I tried zip and it works).
I tried unzipped folder at github reprository ( via github desktop). At first netlify bots tried deploying. I saw couple of familiar urls ( from my site articles), but then it failed.
Site returned 404 error.

Hi @Bharat,

You need not delete the old site to update. When you go to Netlify App, you can upload the updated folder there and it would update the existing website.

I can see that you’ve deleted the repository link. It should also work fine. If you wish to use repository instead and are unable to do it, let us know and we can guide you with it.