i’m not 100% sure I quite get it yet, but, if you were expecting your Netlify site to get deleted because you deleted your repo, then that won’t work.
Why? Well, the way Netlify works is that it takes your repo, runs your build commands (in most cases this means generating a static site) and then pushes the generated code our to each CDN node worldwide. Those CDN nodes are all synced up so that each one serves the same content, but ostensibly they are all “copies” of the same set of files that get generated on build.
When you delete your repo, or change the content in some other way, this does not automatically mean changes happen on each CDN node (that’s what continuous integration is for, but we don’t delete a whole site via CI as it is too complicated and dangerous)
The only way to delete a site is to either a.) delete it via the UI (which then sends a delete command, if you will, to each CDN node and removes the content) or, b.) change the content of the repo, and then issue a deploy. If you delete all the files from the repo, and then issue an “empty” deploy, your netlify site name would be preserved but you’d have an empty site basically. Not sure that’s what you want, but, maybe this helps to clear up why your site is “still there” even though it got deleted.