I am extremely disapointed in netlify

hello

i have to get this out of my system

ive been using netlify for over 3 years now, using the free tier, and i saw someone on reddit ( https://old.reddit.com/r/webdev/comments/1b14bty/netlify_just_sent_me_a_104k_bill_for_a_simple/ ) who also was on a free tier, and just because their app got suddenly ddosed, yall r shifting it all away on the customer it seems

netlify was always bad with the billing, it is a confusing mess as per many online services, hell, some services charge you for deleting your account !, and this is where i feel netlify heading to lol, i was always confused about netlify pricing, but i didnt know it can get this fucked up like it is for that person

over 5 thousand for something theyre not responsible for even, how are you going to make them pay 5 fucking thousand for something yall were responsible for, it is your job, as a host, to protect people from such things like ddos attacks, they literally have zero control over the backend or anything, i understand the pricing behind 55 dollars per 100 gb for normal usage, as in the site is so popular it cannot fit in the free 100 gb it had for free, but not when its an attack like this

i dont believe i am saying all of this - ive always loved netlify, i never wanted to hate it, i never did, the service is great - but this is an extremely scummy move

never have i ever been happier to know that soon i am moving away from netlify and self hosting stuff on my own - not as if buying a cheap vps off contabo for 9.5 euro a month is that bad compared to 104 k, or 5 k

this is just sad and pathetic .

oh not to mention, the ceo of netlify literally said ‘apologies didnt go through’ when the support was nothing but trying to leech as much money out of the user as possible :skull:

Netlify CEO here.

Our support team has reached out to the user from the thread to let them know they're not getting charged for this.