How to use unbundled JavaScript Lamda Functions locally?

Hey guys!

This is my first time trying to use unbundled JavaScript Lamba Functions. The Function works perfectly when deployed, but I can’t get it to work locally for testing before releasing it to production.

Here’s what I’ve done:

Added a package.json with the required dependencies in the root of my project folder → installed Node Modules → imported them in Function as const foo = require('bar');.

The thing is, the function hello.js works perfectly since it’s not using Node Modules at all. I just created this one to test if I was using functions correctly and I did get a Hi! printed on my screen, locally, as well as in production.

exports.handler = async (event, context) => {
  return {
    statusCode : 200,
    body: 'Hi!'
  };
};

However, the function getSecret.js gives me ERR_TOO_MANY_REDIRECTS. If I use netlify dev --edgeHandlers command, I get Function not found. In any case, I can’t get this to work locally. I just wanted to be sure that I’m not doing anything wrong before I ask this on Netlify Dev’s GitHub issues.

Hey there, @hrishikesh Really good question. Do you have a site name you can share for the site you tried this on?

in addition to Hillary’s question, I’m wondering what your netlify.toml looks like and if you have any redirects in it? Have you been testing with invoke as shown here? cli/netlify-dev.md at master · netlify/cli · GitHub

1 Like

@hillary Yes, it’s working fine on this site: flamboyant-lumiere-eec5e6.

@jen, yes I do have redirects in my netlify.toml:

[build]
  command = "hugo"
  publish = "public"
  functions = "functions"

[build.environment]
  HUGO_ENV = "production"
  HUGO_VERSION = "0.82.0"

[[redirects]]
  from = "/*"
  to = "/404/"
  status = 404

Here’s my entire repo if it helps: GitHub - Hrishikesh-K/Blogfolio at test2