Form not working. Help!

Hi,
I am new to Netlify and trying to get a form to work on my website.
The form is on my site at https://inspiring-euclid-a3a47d.netlify.app/guestbook/guestbook.html
When the form submits, the page refreshes with no message about form received and nothing shows up in the forms or overview tabs of my Netlify dashboard.
I have checked through the Netlify form support page at [Support Guide] Form problems, form debugging, 404 when submitting
but still can’t find the problem.
I’m sure I’m making some silly mistake, I just can’t detect it.

Here’s the code I’m using for the form:

<!--Begin Form Code--> 
<p align="center">
<form name="guestbook" netlify>
<input type="text" name="name" placeholder="Name" /><br>
<input type="text" name="country" placeholder="Country"/><br>
<textarea name="description" id="" cols="60" rows="15" ></textarea><br>
<button type="submit">Sign the Guestbook</button>
</form>
</p>
<!--End Form Code-->

I even tried the form example given on the Netlify support page at https://app.netlify.com/sites/inspiring-euclid-a3a47d/forms
but that didn’t work either!
I also checked forms are enabled for me on Netlify.

Can anyone give any advice/help?
Thanks in advance.

Hey!

It looks like your <form> tag doesn’t include the required attributes for Netlify Forms.

According to the Netlify Docs, the form tag should look like this:

<form name="guestbook" method="POST" data-netlify="true">

However I’m pretty sure this also works since this is what I’ve been using:

<form name="guestbook" method="POST" netlify>

Give this a shot and see if it works :))

Hi kylesloper,
Thanks for your reply. Adding in your code:

as you suggested now gives an error message on submitting an entry:
Page Not Found
Looks like you’ve followed a broken link or entered a URL that doesn’t exist on this site.
Back to our site