Home
Support Forums

DNS Name Servers not working, not sure its because Host doesn't allow certain names

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time hosting a domain on Netlify, and I need some help.

General Information:

Netlify Site Name: https://datatechgroup.netlify.app/

Custom Domain: https://datatechgroup.com/

Hello I am having trouble updating my Name Server on my DNS. I know how to update the name server I am just not sure if its set up correctly.

I have my domain on PureHost ( https://www.purehost.com/ ). There I have my 4 name servers Netlify provided to me:

dns1.p06.nsone.net
dns1.p06.nsone.net
dns2.p06.nsone.net
dns3.p06.nsone.net
dns4.p06.nsone.net

The problem is in PureHost, they do not accept name servers that do not start with the letters ns.

I still went ahead and tried to see if it will work with just “ns1.p06.nsone.net

After about 12 hours and more, I am not seeing no changes, after checking DNS propagation sites
seeing that everything is okay. I am still not seeing no change, I am starting to believe I need to have the “dns” part instead of just the “ns” in the name server for it to propagate correctly.

I am I thinking the wrong way about this or the correct way about this?

Do I need to change anything here? Netlify hasn’t been able to Verify the DNS still when I click on “Verify DNS” by the Certificate section. If need more information, I be happy to provide.

Hi @Sorumeiji

Based on the image you shared, this is adding a nameserver to the DNS entries with Purehost as opposed to allocating DNS to Netlify. They do have a guide How to Change or Update NS Records - DNS Management which walks through changing the nameserver to those provided by Netlify.

1 Like