Deploy stalls when no build command found

SITE: https://don-white-portfolio.netlify.app

This site has been live for several days. Tonight I pushed to github and the site did not redeploy. It looks like the bot gets hung up on the build command. The site does not have a build file. Below is the log. I canceled the build and tried a couple more times. No luck. I’m a new developer so I could really use some help please.

Thank you

7:59:51 PM: Build ready to start

7:59:53 PM: build-image version: b0258b965567defc4a2d7e2f2dec2e00c8f73ad6

7:59:53 PM: build-image tag: v3.4.1

7:59:53 PM: buildbot version: 0e3cc7aef5c33f731b54ed4b65d515eaab821679

7:59:53 PM: Building without cache

7:59:53 PM: Starting to prepare the repo for build

7:59:53 PM: No cached dependencies found. Cloning fresh repo

7:59:53 PM: git clone https://github.com/donnywarren/don-white-portfolio

7:59:55 PM: Preparing Git Reference refs/heads/master

7:59:56 PM: No build command found, continuing to publishing

7:59:57 PM: Finished processing build request in 4.412277585s

You can try going to the deploy settings and manually set the build options there. However, I saw that you’re just using a static website, i.e. nothing to build like in case of SSGs, etc. So, you can just build locally and manually upload your build folder to Netlify.

Hi hrishikesh, thanks! I’ll try that today. Do you know any tutorials that cover deployment in general way?

I’m afraid, I don’t know any specific tutorials. But, there are a lot of blog posts and documentations that cover this information in large number of ways. A quick Google Search would help you a lot.

@donnywarren, there was an issue with sites without any build command (like this site) not deploying which has been resolved now.

If you still see builds without a build command not completing, please let us know.